My heart breaks for America, but rejoices in hope.

I look around and see a nation divided. How did we get here? How did we get to the point where one neighbor hates another and where people on both sides of the aisle are called liars? How did we get to the point where Christians argue viciously that our only hope to “save” America is to vote for one of two candidates who, in my opinion, are both flagrantly wicked?  How did we arrive at the place in which we have begun to idolize our candidates, placing our allegiance to them over our conscience, our Scriptures, and our love for our neighbor? I have no desire to further discuss the failures of our political system, our political candidates, and the failures of our nation during this time which is filled with both anger and fear, but there is something I must say.

Though my heart breaks for America, my heart rejoices in hope.

I rejoice because the Savior of the world is in control. Christ, the anointed one, will one day restore all things. I rejoice because, under his mighty hand, his people have no need to worry and no need to fear. I rejoice because the pain that I see around me will one day be no more. I rejoice because one day, all life will be praised as valuable and beautiful. I rejoice because one day, all the people-groups and nations of the earth, regardless of color, ethnicity, or tongue shall stand hand-in-hand before the throne of the Risen Christ to worship their Savior, and the evil of racism, systematic or otherwise, will be no more. I rejoice because though hate abounds in this nation, Christ’s love can conquer all hate. I rejoice because though fear abounds in the hearts of the people, Christ’s love casts out all fear. I rejoice because though the state of our nation can seem hopeless, Christ is the prince of peace and the bringer of hope.

So Christian, who are you and what were you made to be? You were made to carry this hope and tell the world of this hope. Stop the hatred and stop the name-calling. Stop trying to trivialize the evil words and deeds of the ones whom you want to be elected. Stand for that which is right. Isaiah 52:7 is a call upon our lives! “How beautiful upon the mountains are the feet of him who brings good news, who publishes peace, who brings good news of happiness, who publishes salvation, who says to Zion, ‘Your God reigns.'” Bring this good news. Publish peace. Be people of happiness. Tell all those around you about the salvation found in Jesus Christ. Shout it from the mountaintops that God reigns.

How do you fix America? How do you fix the world? Stand apart. Let’s be people of peace, love, and joy as Christ was. Remember that worldly institutions are momentary, but Christ’s kingdom is forever. Let us place our hope in that which is eternal, and our joy shall never fade.

But thanks be to God! He gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ.  Therefore, my dear brothers and sisters, stand firm. Let nothing move you. Always give yourselves fully to the work of the Lord, because you know that your labor in the Lord is not in vain. 
1 Corinthians 15:54-58

 

Leave a Reply

